New beginnings

Studying abroad in Spain was such a life changing experience. I was exposed to new places, foods, cultures, languages, people, customs and so much more.  However, I felt that three months was not nearly enough time abroad.  As the end of the program neared, I was very eager to see my family and friends back at home, yet sad to be leaving such a beautiful country and the friendships that had developed in such a short period of time.  Upon returning to the states, I became determined to find a way to go back to Spain.

This past year, I  applied to the Auxiliares de conversación 2013 program to teach English in Spain. After months of waiting and constantly checking the program’s website for any changes on my application status, I found out I had been accepted.  The waiting game resumed as I impatiently waited for my region assignment,  then again as I waited for my city placement.  On May 31st, I received news that I would be teaching and living in A Coruña, Galicia which I am extremely excited about.  While studying abroad, my program and I traveled to A Coruña, and I absolutely loved it. It’s similar to Seattle in the sense that there’s an abundance of green, it’s cold, and most importantly, lot’s of rain (yay :/). I’ve heard it has been called the PNW of Spain, so I suppose it  really will be  my home away from home.

Here are a few photos I took while visiting La Coruña:

La Coruña
La Coruña
Rosa de los vientos
Rosa de los vientos
391219_2189649141721_872172334_n
Plaza de Santa María

390466_2189691342776_74825008_n

I will be using this blog to document my experiences in Spain as well as a way to keep in touch with friends and family.  I would love to read comments from my readers so feel free to write as you please. You may also email me at: moynicoled@gmail.com

More updates to come. Enjoy!

One thought on “New beginnings”

Leave a Reply

