Detour Ahead

Travel. As much as you can. As far as you can. As long as you can. Life’s not meant to be lived in one place.

Yesterday I celebrated my graduation from UW as well as my departure off to Spain.  I’m still in disbelief that I am now an alumni as opposed to an undergrad, and the fact that I won’t be returning to campus next month is definitely weirding me out!

Something  I’ve learned over the past couple of years is the importance of living and doing what makes you happy. Ferris Bueller said it better than anyone else. “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop to look around once in a while, you could miss it.”  Studying abroad impacted me so heavily, that I completely changed my mind about attending law school.  I’ll be completely honest.  Once I made the decision to not go to law school, I was scared.  I kept asking myself what I would do for a career, whether or not I would go to grad school, if I would ever change my mind and decide that I did want to go to law school, etc. I guess I was mostly scared about not having a “plan”.  But then I realized that our lives aren’t meant to be lived in one solid, linear direction.  It’s important (and completely okay) to take a detour every now and then in order to discover, learn and grow.

My Gooma (my dad’s older sister in Chinese) gave me a graduation card with a message that really stood out to me.  She wrote, “No one knows with absolute their every single step in the future; we only know it is important to make a step, one right after another. Mistakes are okay. Find another direction and keep moving forward, progressing, and learning.” – And that is exactly what I intend to do within these upcoming months.

Leave a Reply

