Barcelona & Thanksgiving

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post. Life in Spain has been great thus far. I’m learning a lot about myself. For example: I have learned that my immune system is horrid here in Spain. I have been sick ever since I arrived (woo woo). Which I assume is a result of the change of country along with working with little kids. Those sneezes to the face can really get ya. I’ve also learned (the hard way – by drinking a couple of glasses of milk), that I am lactose intolerant, which really isn’t that big of a deal because I usually don’t drink milk… However, if you know me, you know that I LOVE pizza… And eating a cheese-less pizza is like eating sadness and unhappiness. Anyways, I’m feeling a lot better and am crossing my fingers that my immune system is gettin’ with the program!

A couple of weeks ago I made a trip to Barcelona with some friends. Although I was still sick, I was determined on going because I was going to be reunited with my two best friends – Mariam and Lindsay, who are also auxiliares living in Cádiz, Andalucía. Barcelona is definitely one of my favorite cities in Spain. The people are friendly and the ambience is wonderful. The Christmas decorations were up as well, which made everything even more beautiful and magical. It was great seeing my musketeers. I can’t believe it had been three MONTHS since I had last seen them!

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

The weekend consisted of: Going on several tours – architecture and history tours, visiting La Sagrada Familia, which is a stunning piece of work. It is by far the most beautiful building I have ever been inside), three musketeer time, visiting Bar Marsella to try some absinthe (a great experience, but we found it very odd that you’re not allowed to: sing, dance, move tables and/or chairs while drinking absinthe… Pretty sure you can’t even smile in this bar)… navigating the metro system, and Museu Picasso.

Catedral de Barcelona
Catedral de Barcelona
Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria
Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria
La Sagrada Familia - Gaudi
La Sagrada Familia – Gaudi
Palau de la Música Catalana
Palau de la Música Catalana
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia

P1060493

Celebrating Thanksgiving abroad:

Three years ago, I celebrated my first Thanksgiving abroad in León. I was incredibly homesick, even though my friends who were also in the study abroad program had organized a big dinner – all I wanted to do was be with my family. This time around, I was a little more prepared. Here in Spain, they don’t celebrate Día de Acción de Gracias. For this reason, Carla asked if I could prepare a powerpoint to show the students what Thanksgiving is all about and how we celebrate it. I ended the day with my fourth graders. Carla had told them I was a little bit sad because Thanksgiving is a time spent with family and I wasn’t able to be with my family, but she said I would be okay because they were my family and when she asked if it was true they all nodded their heads and at the end of the class, they came up to me with hugs and wished me a “Happy Thanksgiving dinner”. Which was incredibly precious. Some of them even asked if they could come to dinner hehehe.

I hosted a Thanksgiving dinner with some of my American friends here, along with my roommates and a few friends from Scotland and England. It was a bit of an unusual Thanksgiving because we didn’t have a whole turkey, but we had a dish with turkey (if that counts?) along with pumpkin and apple pie, yams, mashed potatoes, wine, and yierba. It was really nice to have spent time with friends. And although I couldn’t be physically be with my family, I was able to Skype with them, and my lovely mother sent me some awesome photos and videos which made me feel as though I was back at home, celebrating with them. *Thanks ma 🙂

The real test will be getting through Christmas without feeling too homesick.

Leave a Reply

