Bo Nadal – Celebrating Christmas

With Christmas being just days away, for the past month or so we have been working on Christmas related projects and activities at Kid’s Garden and the colé. Here’s how we celebrated!

Kid’s Garden:

At Kid’s Garden, la escuela infantil that I work at, we celebrated Christmas a few weeks ago. Celebrations included inviting the parents/families to come to the school to watch our Christmas show followed by snacks and beverages. There are two different groups at the school – los mayores (2-3 year olds), y los bebes (1 and younger). I was in charge of los mayores and we performed We Wish You A Merry Christmas and Jingle Bells while los bebes performed Mi Burrito Sabanero (http://bit.ly/1jyrE3o). Overall, the celebration was a lot of fun and soo cute. The children showed up to the school dressed up as shepherd’s or in other Christmasy outfits – absolutely precious! Eva, my boss wanted to introduce me to some of the parents before the show started, which was a somewhat nerve-wracking experience! I’ve seen quite a bit of the parents come and go each morning as they drop their child off at the school. However, I never actually had conversations with them. For me, the experience felt like I was speed dating – two or three minutes with one set of parents, then run over to the next, quick introduction, then run over to a next set of parents. The performance went great! I had feared that my group (as well as los bebes) would be crying the whole time or I would be dancing solo, but it was the total opposite. None of them cried and they actually danced with me!

Los bebes performing Mi Burrito Sabanero
Los bebes performing Mi Burrito Sabanero
Los mayores!
Los mayores!
Some of the lovely ladies I work with!
Some of the lovely ladies I work with!

 

CEIP – Serra De Outes:

Celebrations at the cole included making Christmas trees out of magazines, making ornaments, and singing Christmas related songs including We Wish You A Merry Christmas, Jingle Bells, and Train’s Shake Up Christmas. The profe’s also had their own celebration a couple of days ago which consisted of a six-hour lunch accompanied with an endless supply of wine, some amazing seafood, licor café, and singing. I really love my kids. They all asked if I would be going home for Christmas to be with my family. When I told them no, they all gave me hugs and kisses and told me to have a Merry Christmas. Celebrations at the school took place this last Friday and school ended by 1:30. I had to work in Campus Sur – at Kid’s Garden that morning and wasn’t able to make it in time. I did however, take the first bus I could get on in order to make it to our staff lunch. The food was so delicious. I forgot about all the seafood Galicia has to offer! After our six-hour lunch “ended,” a few of us headed to a bar a little bit closer to the school for one last copa, where more dancing and drinking took place. Once the glasses were emptied, Toño and I said our goodbyes and made our way back to Santiago. Overall, it was a great night!

IMG_1819
Christmas trees made by the students!
Lunch view
Lunch view
Rosa, Toño, and I
Rosa, Toño, and I

 

Upcoming Christmas/New Year adventures:

  • Germany
  • Belgium
  • France
2 thoughts on “Bo Nadal – Celebrating Christmas”

Leave a Reply

